Home NEWS Revis among 1st-year eligible HOF semifinalists-EnglishHindiBlogs-News

Revis among 1st-year eligible HOF semifinalists-EnglishHindiBlogs-News

Rate this post

CANTON, Ohio — Four-time All-Pro cornerback Darrell Revis is one of five first-year eligible players among 28 modern-day semifinalists for the Class of 2023 Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Joining Revis as candidates for induction are offensive linemen Jahry Evans and Joe Thomas, defensive lineman Dwight Freeney and linebacker James Harrison. Each last played in the 2017 season.

Henry Allard and London Fletcher are semi-finalists for the first time. Albert Lewis, a semifinalist in 2013, is also on the list. Allard, who retired after the 1998 season, and Lewis, who also retired in 1998, are in their last year of eligibility as modern-era players.

Torry Holt returns for the ninth time, Hines Ward and Darren Woodson are semifinalists for the seventh time, and Ronde Barber makes the list for the sixth time. Zach Thomas is the fifth timer and James Willis and Reggie Wayne are back for the fourth time.

Eric Allen, Jared Allen, Willie Anderson, Anquan Boldin, Rodney Harrison, Devin Hester, Andre Johnson, Robert Mathis, Steve Smith Sr., Fred Taylor, DeMarcus Ware, Ricky Waters and Vince Wilfork complete the list.

The 28 semi-finalists will be whittled down to 15 finalists before the final voting process in January. Inductees will be announced on February 9 during the NFL Honors, the prime-time awards show when The Associated Press reveals its individual award winners for the 2022 NFL season, including Most Valuable Player and Coach of the Year Are included.

The four previously announced finalists are Don Coryell in the coaching category and Chuck Hawley, Joe Klecko and Ken Riley in the senior category.